The beginning

I was awakened at 3:00 am with the following words rolling around in my head: And So It Was Written.

Weird and magical, the birthing of the name of my new book.  

And So It Was Written

A Novel by Ellen Brazer

 

 

I see him, but not now; I behold him, but not nigh; there shall step forth a star out of Jacob, and a scepter shall rise out of Israel, and shall smite through the corners of Moab, and break down all the sons of Seth. The Star Prophecy of Numbers 24:17


Rabbi Akiva named Shimon Bar Kockba, the son of a star as the Messiah, the savior of the Jewish people. In my research I found instances where Bar Kockba is referred to as the nasi or prince. In my novel I use the word nasi often because it makes me feel better. I don’t like thinking that the great rabbi was so wrong in his declaration of Bar Kockba as the Messiah. So perhaps he did mean that this man was the prince of the Jews. Needless to say, there were those rabbis that disagreed with Akiva’s proclamation. Yet, he was a powerful magnet who managed to amass an army in the hundreds of thousands, as Jews came from every corner to join his army. While this man is not the main character in my novel, it is these events that shape the soul and the essence of the book.  

 

More later

Ellen Brazer

 

 

2 thoughts on “The beginning

  1. Deborah Weed says:

    Ellen,
    I am one of the fortunate few, who get to experience your books as you write them. You know that I can go on and on about how much your words move me. Yet, I want to share something closer to my heart.

    I look Catholic and so, even though I was born Jewish, it is something that never called to me. To my mother’s horror, I hid my heritage and sought spiritual teachings from other religions. Little did I know that a writing group would change my life forever.

    As you would read each of your chapters to our group, you brought me to Israel; shared the journey of a Jewish girl who was unaware of her heritage; read about traditions and allowed me the freedom to discover my heritage. As Clouds Across the Sun evolved, my soul merged with a GOD that I’ve always known. My image of GOD really never changed–what changed was that I was humbled and claimed those aspects of me that had previously been discarded.

    I want to champion Clouds Across the Sun, like no ones business, because if the book can change someone like me, then I can’t imagine how it will open up people’s hearts–whether they are Jewish or not. When we understand the traditions, the sacredness and each other, new worlds become available to us all!

    Ellen, you are blessed. Your books are blessed, and you must deliver your message to the world!

    Blessings,
    Deborah Weed

    Like

Leave a Reply

